Select Page

Department of Music







Tel: +914023135500 / 23135503
E-Mail :

About the Department


The Department of Music was established in the year 2019 at the University of Hyderabad, as a latest addition to the Sarojini Naidu School of Arts and Communication which houses Department of Communication, Department of Fine Arts, Department of Theatre Arts and Department of Dance. Formally launched on the 5th of September, 2019 by renowned musicians Padmasri Smt. Shubha Mudgal and Dr. Aneesh Pradhan, the inauguration was done in the presence of Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Appa Rao Podile and presided over by Prof. P. Thirumal, Dean of SN School of Arts and Communication.

With the objective of offering the best academic and research programmes in traditional and modern music education, the Department of Music endeavours to explore the various dimensions of classical music pedagogy to nurture the diverse skill sets of students to specialise in the areas of performance, research and teaching. Through the curriculum designed for an array of various courses like Foundation, Elective, Core and Inter-disciplinary, students will have an opportunity to pursue their interests in the historical, textual, critical and practical dimensions of the art of music and its practices and traditions.

The academic curriculum will be complemented through Lectures, Demonstrations and Workshops by eminent visiting artists, seminars, conferences etc., on a regular basis. The department aims to provide an ideal learning environment to lead an aspiring music enthusiast on the path of becoming a successful musician. The Department has three faculty members who are committed to giving their best in strengthening the department in the years to come. Prof. P. Thirumal is currently the Head in-charge of the Department of Music.